Lovely undiscovered training place-Bela Krajina

Two years ago I attended nice cycling event – Uphill race Metlika – Krašnji vrh with really steep concrete finish in the small picturesque village on the Slovenian-Croatian border in Bela Krajina region known for rich folk culture, white folk clothes, white trees – breze and great red wine – metliška črnina. Both me and my boyfriend were impressed about the surroundings where I have never been before, really nice and hospitable people and warm and sunny climate most of the time. Now we go there once or twice a year to relax, do some trainings and enjoy the goods. We found by chance a really nice tourist farm – Jakljevič near Metlika town. Nice environment surrounded by wine yards, pastries with horses and sheep, nice rooms, great menu and the owners are really warm.

We made a long cycling trip through whole Bela Krajina, to Dolenjska region on Baza 20 climb – very known training climb for cyclist from this part of Slovenia – some brown bears can come to see how you are doing there from Slovenian “rainforest” Kočevski Rog nearby. Than we headed to Novo mesto – home town of best Slovenian continental cycling team Adria mobil and had some coffee (double because I spilled the first one all over me :D) and coke. Than across one more really known climb Vahta (name tells us people there were watching when the Turks were coming in old times – I think …) and descended back to Bela Krajina took one of my favorite climbs – Krašnji vrh for the end than watched Liege-Bastogne-Liege in a local bar and recovered fully, to be able to take one last uphill sprint to our hosting house – Jakljevič. We made lovely 5 hours ride-nice.


Had some home made dinner with pancakes for desert. I drank a glass of red wine – metliška črnina for blood, but that was all of my wine tasting in the cellar with all kinds of great wines, I cannot handle that, so I had to reject it and went resting for another training day. That was in Mirna Peč, to see the course of National championship hilly road-race. I quite like the course – like climbing and descending but than we visited a friend former pro cyclist in Nettap -Endura, who is biologically farming now and gave us his spelt flour and hemp proteins – nice healthy bread in a making. With so much new energy I am looking forward to my first Dolska runda today – fast group training – the most known and oldest and most respected in the country – shut up legs 😃     

Leave a comment